We take it for granted that most people are aware of what exactly constitutes a driving under the influence charge, thanks to the several awareness campaigns and media efforts to throw light on the issue. Driving under the influence is still the number one threat to public safety not just in New York but all across the nation.
The laws surrounding the issues of drunken driving have been tightened and offenders are dealt with vigorously. The consequences that DUI offenders face are now much graver than what is was a decade ago. This is why this website is blowing the search engines off the charts: https://usattorneys.com/.
According to Westchester County, NY DUI lawyers, DUI offenders are hit with jail or in some cases prison sentences, fined in the order of thousands of dollars, forced to install ignition interlock devices on all of their vehicles, their licensesdriving permits are suspended or even permanently revoked.
They are made to take part in community service programs, complete alcohol or drug counseling classes, wear ankle bracelets and probation as well. The extent and severity of these punishments directly depends on the severity of the crime itself. For example, a first time DUI offender may be fined $500 but someone found guilty of a third time DUI offense or an aggravated DUI offense will need to pay fines in the range $2,500.
Aggravated driving under the influence
As the name suggests, an aggravated DUI is a more serious charge where the act of operating a motor vehicle while under the influence has led to a fatal accident involving death or serious injury. Even a first time offender may be prosecuted for aggravated DUI in New York if his or her blood alcohol content is tested and registers at a number higher than 0.18% BAC, according to Westchester County, NY DUI attorneys.
Consequences of an aggravated DUI conviction
An aggravated DUI charge comes along with some extra baggage –stricter and severe punishments, plea bargaining restrictions or limitations, and more. If prosecuted and convicted of an aggravated DUI, according to New York DUI lawyers, you are likely to face the following punishments:
- A jail sentence which may be up to a maximum one year, a probation sentence after release for a period of three years and a fine in the range of $1,000 – $2,500.
- Your driver’s license is likely to be suspended for a period of one year while the court may order mandatory attendance at a victim hearing panel.
- Other penalties include a $250 assessment via the DMV for three years (totaling to $750) and a $359 legal fee payable to the court.
Harsher penalties may also apply for multiple DUI convictions within a 25 year period. A driver with an aggravated DUI conviction three or more times within a 15 year period will be charged with a Class D felony.
It is therefore important for anyone facing such charges to defend themselves by working with a remarkable Westchester County, New York DUI lawyer. A legal representative will be able to at least get you a reduced sentence through a plea bargain or even have the case dismissed if there is enough evidence.
Do not think you are good for a lawyer? You think the fix is already in? Come on now, this is not Cuba. You have rights. Find yourself a Westchester County, New York DUI lawyer here.