Once a person is caught driving under the influence, they will have to face the legal penalties unless they can somehow prove their innocence. Amongst the penalties a person will be subjected to, is the fines which they will most certainly be forced to pay.
For a first-time offense, a person will have to pay up to $1000 to the court. For a second time offense, they will have to pay up to $2500 and for a third-time offense they could be forced to pay up to $5000. It is important to note that these fines can be increased based on any other damages a person may cause while DUI. For instance, if a person got into an accident or injured other individuals while DUI, they will have to shoulder the financial responsibility of these offenses as well.
What other penalties will I have to face if I am caught DUI?
Apart from having to pay fines, a person might also get their license suspended or revoked and they may also have to face jail time as well depending on their previous driving record and their level of intoxication. A person can be legally brought in for DUI if their BAC is determined to be 0.08 or above. If a person’s BAC is under 0.08 but they are clearly not in their senses and their thought process is clearly impaired, then they can still be held legally responsible for DUI as well.
If a person is convicted for a first time DUI offense in Oklahoma, they can be forced to endure 10 days up to a year of jail time alongside having their driving license revoked for 6 months. Second-time offenders can get jail time of up to 5 years as well as having their license revoked for a year and having to have an Ignition Interlock device installed into their vehicle. If a person is caught for a third-time offense they will have to endure between 1 to 10 years of jail time, get their driver’s license revoked for three years and have an Ignition Interlock Device installed into their vehicle for to 3 years after the revocation period has been completed.
Apart from paying fines what expenses will I have to pay?
Individuals will be responsible for paying the attorney fees to their DUI lawyer in Tulsa, Oklahoma. They will also have to make up for the time which they miss from work as this will not be compensated for by the court. Another expense which individual must pay is the transportation which they will have to arrange for themselves once their license gets suspended.
If they are put on an alcohol recovery program they will also have to pay for the fees of the program. There is also the $75 processing fee which they must pay for license revocation, the $25 fee for their license reinstatement, and the$175 fees for authorized limited driving. If a person wants to limit the fines, expenses, and penalties which they are being subjected to, they should get in touch with a legal professional as soon as possible.