Salt Lake City, UT— If you have been arrested for a DUI in Utah, you are probably well aware of the fact that you are in considerable legal trouble, but you may be unaware of the many penalties you face. Here we will discuss the more common questions offenders have for their Utah DUI attorney.
What are the possible penalties?
With a DUI charge, whether it’s your first or a subsequent offense, there is the risk you could be sentenced to serve time in jail. The minimum jail sentence for a first offender is 48 hours. If you are facing aggravating circumstances such as leaving the scene of an accident or DUI with a minor child, could be given a longer sentence. DUI with a minor child carries a one year jail sentence.
There is a $700 dollar fine for a first DUI conviction, but, overall, a DUI with all the other associated costs can add up to $10,000 or more for a first offender.
Additionally, you will have to serve a minimum of 48 hours of community service.
Will I lose my license?
For a first-time DUI conviction you will, unfortunately, lose your license for a minimum of 120 days. Utah has strict laws regarding license suspension, so if you are convicted there’s no way around a mandatory loss of your license. Unlike other states, there is no option for a limited privilege license to get back and forth to work. This is why it’s crucial to have one of outstanding Iowa DUI attorneys working on your defense, avoiding conviction of is your only way to keep your license.
But it is possible to avoid a temporary suspension of your license and keep it until you appear in court, but you have to act quickly. You have only ten days from your arrest to file for this hearing.
Are ignition interlocks mandatory?
If you had a blood alcohol content of .016 or higher, or your have a previous DUI conviction you will be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. The installation costs, averaging $100 to $200, and monthly maintenance fees will come out of your pocket.
Can I plead to a lesser charge?
In Utah, it is possible for you to seek the lesser charge of “wet reckless.” Pleading down to a “wet reckless,” which is reckless driving involving alcohol, is usually achieved through plea negotiations between the prosecution and your DUI attorney. Circumstances such as borderline blood alcohol level or no prior DUI charges will make a lesser charge like “wet reckless” more likely.
If you are charged with any subsequent DUIs, a “wet reckless” will count as a prior DUI in regards to your sentencing.
Do I need an Utah DUI attorney?
Yes, you need an Iowa DUI attorney. Sometimes people want to put the whole matter behind them so they decide to plead guilty, thinking they can just move on. This isn’t the case, without legal representation you have a greater chance of being convicted. A DUI lawyer in Salt Lake City can evaluate the details of your case and determine the best way to approach your case. They have the skills and experience necessary to build a winning defense.