A drunk driving arrest in Denver will impact your life in many ways, and there will be long-term repercussions. The severity of the penalties you face depends on several factors including whether you are being charged with a first or second offense if your arrest involved a crash. One factor that will have a major impact on your charge is your blood alcohol concentration.
How Many Drinks Can I Have Before I’m Legally Drunk?
Our criminal defense attorneys serving Denver are asked the above question a lot, and the answer depends on several factors including a person’s size, their level or tolerance, the rate of alcohol consumption, what you are drinking, and whether you drank on an empty stomach.
One drink equals 1.5 ounces of hard liquor, 12 ounces of beer, or five ounces of wine. A woman, weighing 120lbs., will reach the legal limit after consuming three drinks in one hour. A person is weighing 140 lbs. Can have four drinks before they are over the legal limit in Colorado.
Your blood alcohol concentration is measured through a breathalyzer or chemical test. Both of which measure the number of alcohol molecules per liter of blood. Obviously, the more molecules you have in your blood stream, the more intoxicated you are. However, some breathalyzer results are inaccurate, and you could be wrongfully arrested or subjected to excessive force.
Colorado’s Two-Tiered System for DUI Offenders
Colorado uses a two-tiered system to determine how a DUI offender will be charged based on your blood alcohol concentration. We’ll outline the charges below:
DWAI- If your BAC is between 0.05 percent and .08 percent, you will be charged with driving while ability impaired which carries a maximum jail sentence of 180 days and a $500 fine. There is no minimum license suspension period for a DWAI conviction, but a judge has the power to suspend your license during sentencing if they choose.
DUI/DWI– When your blood alcohol concentration is 0.08 percent or more, you will be charged with a DUI. A conviction for a DUI can result in up to one year in jail, revocation of your license for nine months, fines between $600 and $1,000 and up to 96 hours of community service.
If you are charged with a DWAI or DUI in Denver, a judge can increase your penalties depending on the mitigating circumstances of your crash.
If You Need to Be Bailed Out…
If you were arrested and someone is planning on bailing you out, you might need to visit one of the jails listed below:
Denver County Jail
10500 Smith Rd.,
Denver, CO 80239
Denver City Jail
490 West Colfax Avenue,
Denver, CO 80204
Adams County Sheriff’s Detention Facility
150 N 19th Ave.,
Brighton, CO 80601
520 W Colfax Ave.,
Denver, CO 80204
Denver City & County Building
1437 Bannock St.,
Denver, CO 80202
You Don’t Have to Be Drunk to Be Charged with DUI in Denver
DUIs are not exclusive to motorists who have been drinking if you are impaired by any substance whether it is marijuana, opioids or prescription drugs.
Contact a DUI Lawyer in Denver
Once you are charged with a DUI, you need to contact an experienced defense lawyer in Denver o help you get out of jail and decide how to resolve your case. You may want to go to trial or prefer to seek a plea bargain. Either way, you will benefit from retaining a DUI lawyer in Denver. USAttorneys has a top-notch team of lawyers who understand what is at stake and will work tirelessly on your defense and take whatever steps are necessary to help you avoid conviction.