Being charged with a DUI can completely disturb and destabilize your life. You may feel as though there’s no hope for a happy and prosperous future, once you’re handed such a lifechanging card, but as experienced and knowledgeable criminal defense attorneys in Alabama, we are here to tell that there is definitely a light at the end of the tunnel, and we can help you get through the dark and difficult times to come out the other end. If you have recently been charged with a DUI in Alabama, please stick around and learn all about the consequences of the charge you face, as well as how a criminal defense attorney can help you confront them.
Everything You Need to Know About DUIs
Per American Addiction Centers “Anyone who is operating a motorized vehicle or a vehicle with any type of drive train can get a DUI-type offense. This includes the use of motorized watercraft, lawnmowers, mopeds, and even non-motorized bicycles.” Some states may refer to DUIs as DWIs or OUIs. Just as the term used to label this offense could vary depending on the state you are in, so could the penalties you face either as a minor or as an adult. This is why it’s imperative that those who are charged with a DUI are represented by an attorney who is well informed on the DUI laws of the state you have been charged in. Only then will they be able to help you navigate the defense process successfully, recommending preferred courses of actions, offering plea bargains, and presenting a case to reduce your sentence.
What Does it Mean to Get Charged with a DUI in Alabama?
According to the National College for DUI Defense, those who are convicted for driving under the influence for the first time, will be facing “a jail sentence of not more than one year, a fine of $600-$2100, 90-day license suspension; and a court referral evaluation.” Second convictions (within a 10-year period) will be penalized with “a jail sentence of not more than one-year, mandatory minimum of 5 days to serve or community service for not less than 30 days; a fine of $1,100-$5,100; 1 year of license revocation, and a court referral evaluation.” Individuals who are convicted for a third time (within a 10-year period) will be penalized with “a jail sentence of not more than one-year, mandatory minimum of 60 days to serve; a fine of $2,100-$10,100; 3-year license revocation; and a court referral evaluation.” And those who are convicted for a fourth time, will automatically be charged with a felony.
When it comes to criminal cases, time is of the essence, which is why we suggest that if you have been recently charged with a DUI in Montgomery Alabama, you take some time to look through our attorney database and get in touch with an experienced, knowledgeable and compassionate attorney who can help you in your time of need.