Alexandria, VA– For many Virginians, a DUI charge will be the only legal trouble they face in their lifetime, but so few residents understand the basics of a DUI charge. They are also usually unaware of the penalties they face and how they can fight their charges. That is why USAttorneys and our team of defense lawyers in Alexandria wanted to discuss some important things you should know about your DUI charges.

In Virginia, you can be charged with a DUI if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08 percent or higher. If your BAC is 0.15 or more, you face aggravated DUI charges which carry longer jail times, higher fines and a longer license suspension period.

Penalties for a first DUI in Alexandria include a minimum of five days in jail, a minimum of $250 in fines and a mandatory license suspension period of one year. If you are convicted of an aggravated DUI charge, you will have to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle at an additional cost to you.

While most DUIs are related alcohol, many Virginians face drugged driving charges.  Under Virginia law, it is illegal to drive with any drug that causes impairment in your blood stream. If you are facing drugged driving charges, you will have to show you weren’t impaired when you were pulled over to avoid conviction. That can be a very hard task, so we recommend you speak with a DUI lawyer in Virginia to see how that can assist with your DUI defense.

Fortunately, if you are charged with a DUI in Alexandria, you may be offered a plea bargain for a lesser charge like wet reckless which has less severe penalties than a DUI conviction.

But legal consequences like jail and fines are not all, a DUI conviction will impact other aspects of your life. Professionally, you could lose your job because of your license suspension, and prospective employers may be reluctant to consider you for a job. A DUI conviction will also cost you financially, in addition to the penalties, fines, and court costs, your insurance premiums will skyrocket, and you’ll have to pay administrative fees before you can get your license back.

There are many aspects of a DUI case, and that is why USAttorneys recommends you speak with a DUI lawyer in Alexandria if you are facing a drunken driving or a drugged driving charge. Our dedicated, skilled, and persistent team of defense lawyers in Virginia understand the high stakes of a DUI conviction and will do their best to help you avoid conviction. Call one of our DUI attorneys today and set up a consultation.