Were you stopped by Long Beach police and arrested for DUI? Are you worried about what happens next? Your DUI arrest is just the beginning of the legal and financial problems that await if you have the misfortune of being convicted. Our DUI lawyers in Long Beach will discuss the basics of your DUI charges, so you understand what’s going to happen next. It will be easier to make some of the crucial decisions when you know what to anticipate.
DUI Arrest and Aftermath
When you get busted for a DUI in Long Beach or Los Angeles County, you are going to be taken to one the jails listed below. And if you are like most people, you are going to want to get out as soon as possible.
Lakewood Sheriff Department
5130 Clark Ave.,
Lakewood, CA 90712
2165 E Spring St.,
Long Beach, CA 90806
Once you get out of jail, USAttorney.com recommends you speak with a criminal defense lawyer in California to outline the consequences of your DUI charges, explain any enhancements if they apply, and begin looking for the best defense strategy.
Next, your driver’s license
In addition to spending several hours in jail, your driver’s license is suspended and it is illegal for you to drive unless you get your license restored. You have ten days from your arrest to request a hearing with Long Beach Department of Motor Vehicles to get limited driving privileges until your case is resolved. If your request is denied, your license will be suspended for a minimum of thirty days or more depending on the outcome of your case.
Long Beach DMV
3700 E Willow St, Long Beach, CA 90815
Types of DUI Charges and Penalties
Most DUI arrests in Long Beach are basic charges with no extenuating circumstances like a traffic crash or a repeat offense. In these cases, the penalties are pretty straightforward and for a first DUI include:
96 hours up to six months in jail
$390 to $1,000 in fines
Driver’s license suspension for 30 days up to ten months
Mandatory ignition interlock
DUI Penalty Enhancements
Sometimes you drunk driving charge involves other circumstances that result in enhanced DUI charges such as causing an accident or driving with a suspended driver’s license. If any extenuating circumstances apply and you could face additional penalties and fines as outlined below.
DUI with a suspended license- Up to six months in jail; up to $1,000 in fines; one to three years of probation California Vehicle Code 14601.2 VC.
DUI with a minor child in the vehicle- 48 hours in jail for a first offense on top of the regular sentencing for DUI convictions in California California Vehicle Code 23572 VC.
DUI hit-and-run- Prison time to be determined by the facts of the crash and the severity of the victim’s injuries California Vehicle Code 20002-20003.
Speak with a DUI Lawyer in Long Beach
If you are a commercial driver or a licensed professional, such as a nurse, a DUI conviction can kill your career and devastate you financially. No matter where you work, losing your driver’s license can be an extreme hardship. In the worst case, you could lose your job because you can get there or are repeatedly late.
Don’t ignore the seriousness of your DUI charge, enlist a DUI attorney in Long Beach today and let them begin working on your defense. They can help get your license back if you act immediately and will give you an unassailable defense. USAttorneys can connect you with a DUI lawyer you can meet with and talk about your defense.
The consequences of a DUI arrest or conviction are even greater if you are an immigrant. That is why you should speak to an immigration attorney in California. An attorney may need to take a different approach and tackle your charges a different way.