Shreveport, LA- Were you arrested and charged with a DUI? Was it your second DUI offense? Are you worried about the consequences? USAttorneys thinks you should be because the consequences for a second DUI can be severe, and prosecutors are very tough on second offenders.
Once you’ve been charged with a second DUI, we recommend you contact a DUI lawyer in Shreveport, Louisiana and let them get started on a defense strategy and mitigate some of the immediate consequences of your DUI arrest like license suspension.
First, it’s important to understand what counts as a second offense in Louisiana. The state treats repeat DUIs differently depending on the time that has elapsed since the first DUI offense. For purposes of license suspensions, a DUI is considered a second offense if it occurred within a five-year period. For sentencing purposes, a DUI is considered a second offense within a ten-year period.
If this is considered your second offense, your driver’s’ license will be suspended for one year, but you can ask for a provisional license until your case is resolved. To do so, you must request a hearing within 15 days of your arrest. Once thirty days of license suspension has passed, you may be able to get a restricted license by agreeing to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
Jail penalties associated vary depending on the circumstances of your arrest. In Louisiana, the minimum jail time for a second DUI is 30 days if the second arrest was within one year of the first arrest. If the second arrest occurred beyond that one-year window, the minimum, which is 30 days, is not usually enforced, and most offenders can have their jail sentence reduced to 48 hours. However, second offenders with a BAC over .15 will most likely spend 96 hours in jail.
Additional penalties could include community service, requirement you attend driving school and participation in a substance abuse program. You will also face up to $1,000 in fines and court costs. You also face high-cost insurance premiums and more stringent requirements.
In addition to the legal consequences, a repeat DUI offense can have an impact on your work and your personal life. A conviction for a second DUI could cost you your job and will become very costly over time. Those are just a few of the reasons why USAttorneys suggests you contact one of DUI defense attorneys in Louisiana if you have been charged with a DUI. You can count one our experienced attorneys to use their skills and knowledge to help you avoid conviction.
Contact an attorney today to discuss your case and learn how they can help you with your DUI charges. You can keep your DUI from ruining your life retaining a DUI lawyer to work on your defense.