About half of first-time DUI offenders eventually become repeat offenders, and some do it repeatedly. DUI laws in Kansas are tough on people who continue to drive under the influence of drugs or alcohol. It’s wise to familiarize yourself with the laws, so you know what’s coming if you are charged with a repeat DUI offense.
What Penalties Do I Face for a DUI in Wichita?
When you are arrested for DUI, you will face legal and personal consequences. A conviction will leave you with a mark on your driving record and ruin your reputation with friends and family. Below are some of the penalties for repeat DUI offenses and charges involving aggravating circumstances in Kansas:
Jail: 90 days up to one year
Fines: $1,000 to $1,500
Driver’s License: One year
Ignition Interlock Device: After your license is restored you must install IID for one year
Other Penalties: Must pay court costs and probation fees, complete a rehabilitation program and it is possible for your car to be impounded for up to one year
Jail: 90 days to one year
Fines: $1,500 to $2,500
Driver’s License: One-year suspension
Ignition Interlock Device: One year after license is restored
Other Penalties: Must complete a rehabilitation program, pay additional courts costs and fees and the state can impound your car for a year
Ignition Interlock Device:
Other Penalties: Must pay court costs
DUI Involving Involuntary Manslaughter
Jail: Minimum 72 hours up to 14 years
DUI with a Child under the Age of Fourteen
The same penalties listed above apply but an additional month will be added to your sentence.
Regardless of whether your DUI is a misdemeanor or felony, it will stay on your record for five years. It will be visible on background checks and will count against you should you face another DUI or criminal offense. Whether you are facing your first DUI or a repeat, you need a criminal defense lawyer in Wichita working on your case.
What if I’m Under 21?
Kansas has a “zero tolerance” policy towards underage drinking, so if you are under 21, you can be charged with a 0.02 percent blood alcohol. The legal penalties are the same as a teen as an adult which means they will have a record at an early age.
What if I’m a Commercial Driver?
As a commercial driver, you can be charged with a DUI if your BAC is 0.04 percent. A conviction will result in a suspension of your commercial driver’s license, and you be prohibited from driving a commercial vehicle in the future.
What if I’m an Immigrant?
If you are an immigrant, a DUI can have a different set of consequences. You could face deportation if you are arrested and charged. An immigration lawyer can explain the consequences you face if you accept a plea bargain or are convicted of impaired driving.
Hire a DUI Lawyer in Wichita
The first repercussion of a drunk or drugged driving arrest is jail. It’s the first of many troubles you will encounter throughout the course of your case. USAttorneys encourages you to enlist a DUI lawyer in Wichita to help you get out of jail first and then start working on your defense.
You can locate an inmate by using the Sedgwick County Sheriff’s Office tool: https://ssc.sedgwickcounty.org/sheriffinmates/sheriffinmatesearch.aspx
Addresses for Wichita jails are listed below:
Sedgwick County Jail
141 W Elm St.,
Wichita, KS 67203
Wichita County Jail Annex
622 E Central Ave,
Wichita, KS 67202
Once you get out of jail, you have important decisions to make about your driver’s license and your defense strategy. That’s why you need to consult with an attorney. No two cases are alike. Our team of attorneys understand that and will go the extra mile in your case so that your life isn’t turned upside down because of a DUI.