Every motorist out on the roadway is not only expected to be aware of the current laws that stand but also abide by them to ensure that everyone’s safety is taken into account. It is important that all traffic laws in the state of Nevada are followed, especially those that prohibit anyone from driving while under the influence of any substance or drug. Driving while under the influence is a serious and punishable crime and the penalties for it vary based on the type of driver. Commercial drivers in particular are subjected to much harsher penalties should they be guilty of driving drunk and the same goes for those who operate a bus.
If you operate a commercial vehicle and have been arrested for driving drunk, you are going to want to hire a knowledgeable DUI attorney in Reno immediately.
What is the BAC Limit for Truck Drivers?
A commercial truck, such as an 18-wheeler, is not only harder to drive but also adds more risk to the roadway because of its massive size. Most accidents that occur with these trucks leave victims severely wounded, disabled, and even dead. Because of the increased risk that is associated with large trucks, those operating these vehicles cannot drive their truck legally with a BAC level of .04 or higher. And while someone with a BAC lower than .04 may not be charged with a DUI immediately after being pulled over, if a police officer believes they have consumed enough alcohol to impair their judgement, they may be asked to participate in a field sobriety test and run the risk of them being arrested for DUI.
What Charges Will I Face for Driving Drunk in a Commercial Vehicle?
Based on the information provided by dmvnv.com, if a commercial truck driver is charged for the first time, they will likely go to jail for two days to six months, they may have to participate in community service, and will likely be required to pay a fine of anywhere between $400-$1,000. On top of that, the offender may be required to take part in a substance abuse treatment program and will lose their driving privileges for up to 90 days. If charged for the second time, the penalties increase in severity and the commercial driver may lose their license for up to one year.
If you are a commercial truck driver, then you know going an entire year would be devastating as this is how you are able to survive financially.
Hiring a DUI Attorney in Reno, NV
As you can see, the punishments are rather harsh for commercial drivers and charges can significantly affect your life and well-being. If you were recently charged with DUI Reno, Nevada DUI attorney Nicole N. Ting is who you want to call. You can contact her by calling 775-337-9597. Because each drunk driving case is different and varies based on the circumstances surrounding the crime, you are going to want to sit down with a professional who can explain what your options are.
You can contact DUI lawyer Nicole N. Ting now where you will be scheduled for a free, no-obligation consultation to further discuss the details of your drunk driving charge.