If you were involved in a drunk driving accident in Largo, FL and you were at fault for causing the crash, you were probably charged with DUI, correct? Did the accident result in property damage, injuries to another, or a death? If you answered yes to any of the above, then you may want to follow these steps we have highlighted for you below.
Three Essential Steps You Need to Take After Causing a Drunk Driving Accident in Largo
- Contact a Largo, FL drunk driving accident lawyer as soon as possible. Did you know that a DUI charge alone could land you in jail even if it is your first and only offense? In the state of Florida, a first-time DUI offender is likely to face the following penalties:
- A fine that is not less than $500 but no more than $1,000.
- A jail sentence that shall not exceed six months.
- If you caused an accident that resulted in property damage, injuries, or death, your charge will increase in severity and you will be faced with additional penalties.
[Source: Florida Statute @316.193].
Not only will a DUI accident attorney serve as a support system as you go through this stressful and confusing time in your life, but they can also help you potentially get your charges reduced. How can an attorney do this? Well, if the arresting officer violated one or more of your rights, your lawyer will be sure to use this to your advantage. Drunk driving accident lawyers also have the ability to work out plea bargains with the prosecutor assigned to the case which could result in you not having to serve any time in jail.
- After being charged, a court date will be scheduled for you to attend and you are going to want to be sure you dually note this date so that you show up for it. You will want to have already hired a DUI accident attorney before attending this hearing so that you aren’t going in unaware of what shall transpire. DUI offenders are never encouraged to enter into a courtroom alone as they put themselves at risk of saying something that could harm their chances of getting their case dismissed.
- Find out what you need to do to get your license reinstated. Most DUI offenders will be subject to having their license suspended for a specific period of time. While some are not eligible to get their driving privileges reinstated, some are. You are going to want to find out what you may be required to do so that you are able to get your life back on track and get to and from the places you need to go.
If you would like a legal expert assisting you with your DUI accident case who understands the law and can defend your rights and freedom, contact Trevena, Pontrello & Associates.
Trevena, Pontrello & Associates can be reached at:
801 W. Bay Drive, Suite 509
Largo, FL 33770