A DUI stop and the subsequent arrest is just the beginning of your problems if you are accused of impaired driving in California. Getting bailed out of jail is just the first of many legal troubles you have in store. Unfortunately, there are many harsh realities of a DUI charge in Santa Ana that you should know so that you can make the best decision about your case.

A DUI is A Crime in California

In most people’s minds, a DUI charge doesn’t seem like that big of a deal, but it is, and you will have to live with the repercussions for years. In California, driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is considered a crime which can have a long list of legal and personal consequences. Most of the DUIs in California are misdemeanor charges, but your A DUI can be elevated to a felony under the following circumstances:

If your blood alcohol concentration is 0.20 percent

You caused a fatal or injurious accident

Impaired driving with a minor child in the car

You Are Going to Jail Initially and Maybe Later

The first consequence of drinking and driving is jail. You will be arrested on the spot and will spend the next several hours in jail, perhaps longer. If you are arrested, you can bail yourself out of jail, ask a friend or family member or contact a DUI lawyer in Santa Ana. Once your bail is paid, you will be released from jail and might never have to go back with a solid defense.

Santa Ana Jail

62 Civic Center Plaza,

Santa Ana, CA 92701



Women’s Central Jail

44 Civic Center Plaza,

Santa Ana, CA 92703


Orange County Inmate Search: http://ws.ocsd.org/Whoisinjail/Search.aspx

Santa Ana Inmate Search: http://ww3.santa-ana.org/DynamicPages/InmateLocator.aspx

Once you get out of jail, you need to speak with a criminal defense attorney in California and explore the options you have to resolve your case with no jail time.

Jail Sentences for DUI Convictions in California:

First offense- Possible Six months in jail with no mandatory minimum

Second Offense- Minimum ten days in jail up to one year in jail

Third Offense- minimum 120 days in jail up to one year

You Will Lose Your Driver’s License

If you are arrested for DUI in California, you are going to lose your driver’s license. It may be a temporary suspension, or it could be revoked for significantly longer if you are convicted of a first DUI, a repeat offense or a felony DUI.

You can request an administrative hearing to have your license reinstated until your case is resolved, but you must request the hearing within ten days of your arrest.

If you refused a breath, blood, or urine test in Santa Ana, your driver’s license will be suspended for one year. The state’s Implied Consent Law states that breathalyzers and chemical tests are a requirement of your driver’s license, and refusing one result in automatic suspension or revocation for at least one year.

Immigrants Face Deportation

On top of the penalties listed above, if you are an immigrant and get arrested for DUI, it is possible for you to be deported regardless of your immigration status. USAttorneys.com recommends you speak with an immigration attorney in Santa Ana before making any decisions about how to resolve your case. If you are taken into custody by ICE, you could be taken to the following location:

US Immigration and Customs Enforcement

34 Civic Center Plaza,

Santa Ana, CA 92701


Call a DUI Lawyer

A DUI conviction will affect your life in many ways that you may not even realize. That is why we encourage you to speak with a drunk driving defense attorney and discuss the possible consequences of your DUI charge. They will examine the facts of your case and decide on the best defense strategy for you. USAttorneys can connect you with a devoted and skilled lawyer today.