Ingham County, MI—Individuals who are caught operating their motor vehicle impaired or with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of 0.08 or higher are guilty of operating while intoxicated, which is a criminal offense that carries serious penalties. If an individual is caught driving with a BAC of .17 or higher, this is considered a high BAC offense and carries harsher penalties than an OWI with a BAC level that is below 0.17.
According to The Office of Secretary of State Jocelyn Benson, the penalties for a high BAC offense are as follows:
- Up to 180 days in jail.
- Having to pay a fine that ranges between $200-$700.
- Having to complete up to 360 hours of community service.
- Driver’s license suspended for one year.
An individual may receive a restricted license 45 days after their suspension period starts given they are eligible. If an individual qualifies to receive a restricted license, they will be required to have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle. The Secretary of State will need to receive proof that the device has been successfully installed.
How does an individual get an ignition interlock device installed in Michigan?
If an individual is required to have an ignition interlock device installed inside their vehicle, they can choose a manufacturer from the Secretary of State’s list of approved manufacturers to do it for them. There generally is a fee for having an ignition interlock device installed as well as a monthly fee while the device is being utilized and the individual is liable for covering these costs.
Where can an individual drive with their restricted license?
Under most circumstances, if an individual has been convicted of a high BAC offense, which is considered a misdemeanor, and they receive a restricted license, they will be permitted to use their vehicle to:
- Go back and forth between their home and place of employment.
- To attend an alcohol education or treatment program.
- To attend doctor’s visits to treat serious medical conditions.
- To and from probation visits or to complete community service.
- To attend school.
If an individual is convicted of a second or third alcohol-related driving offense in Michigan, they will likely have their license revoked and will face much harsher penalties than those outlined above.
How can an Ingham County, MI OWI lawyer help an individual who has been charged for driving intoxicated?
There are many things an Ingham County, MI OWI attorney can do for an individual who has been charged with OWI, some of which include:
- Help them understand the charges that have been filed against them.
- Explain their options and the repercussions each carries.
- Help them fight their charges if their rights were violated at some point during their arrest or they were charged with the wrong crime.
- Assist them through the legal process that follows after an individual has been charged with OWI.
To connect with an OWI lawyer in Ingham County, MI, contact the Law Offices of Stuart R. Shafer, P.C. For years, the Law Offices of Stuart R. Shafer, P.C. has been protecting the rights of others who have been charged with criminal offenses in Ingham County and is prepared to help anyone else in need of legal advice and support.
The Law Offices of Stuart R. Shafer, P.C. can be reached at:
1223 Turner Street, #333
Lansing, MI 48906