Second DUI offenses are common in Arizona.
Phoenix, AZ– Approximately half of Arizonians that are charged with one DUI, at some point in time, will be accused of a second DUI. In fact, some DUI offenders will be a repeat their offense several times. Law enforcement in Arizona would like to stop people from being repeatedly driving under the influence, so the penalties get tougher with each offense. Here our team of DUI lawyers in Phoenix, Arizona will discuss the penalties you might face if you are convicted of a second DUI.
First, USAttorneys urges anyone who has been charged with their second DUI contact speak with a defense lawyer to discuss the potential defense strategies to explore and work to have your penalties reduced. (Unfortunately, plea bargains are not allowed under Arizona DUI statutes.)
Under state law, a DUI is considered a second offense if the arrestee was convicted within in seven years of their first DUI conviction. Typically, second offenses are considered misdemeanor charges, however, if a person’s blood alcohol concentration is 0.15 percent or greater they could face felony DUI charges.
If you have been charged with your second DUI, your driver’s license will be revoked for at least one year. That means an offender will have to pay exorbitant fees to have their license reinstated once their revocation period is up.
On top of those administrative costs, if you are a second-time DUI offender, you will have to pay fines ranging between $500 and $2,500. Plus, you can expect your insurance premiums to skyrocket.
In addition to the nearly ten thousand dollars you are going to spend if you are convicted of a DUI in Arizona, you face a minimum of 90 days in jail with the potential of being sentenced to six months in jail, depending on factors surrounding your arrest. For instance, you might be sentenced to the maximum of six months, if you caused an accident that resulted in injuries.
Additional penalties typically include community service, and you may be required to attend driving school and/ or participate in a substance abuse program. These requirements and other all depend on the will of a judge and whether or not you can convince them you deserve leniency.
A DUI defense lawyer will is you best hope at beating a second DUI charge.
When you are facing a second DUI charge in Phoenix, USAttorneys recommends you contact the Law Offices of Brian D. Sloan to explain the penalties you face and outline your options for defense. You can contact Mr. Sloan’s office at (602) 357-8980 or (480) 245-531 and set up a case evaluation. He will use his skills and experience to minimize the personal, professional and legal consequences of your second DUI. Don’t face the legal system alone or you could find yourself in more trouble than necessary. Call today and set up a consultation, we’re sure it’s a decision you won’t regret.