Thousands of Virginians are hurt and killed in drunken or drugged driving accidents every year. For the safety of Virginia Beach’s citizens, police work very hard to get drunk drivers off the road, and if you drink and drive, you might get arrested. A DUI conviction in Virginia can have far-reaching consequences, and you need to know what is at risk before you decide what actions to take.
In Virginia, the legal limit for alcohol is 0.08 percent, and one thing many people don’t realize is how few drinks it takes to reach the legal limit. Depending on your height, weight, and tolerance, just one or two drinks can put your blood alcohol concentration over the legal limit, and you can be arrested.
Penalties for a first DUI in Virginian Beach include a minimum of five days in jail, $250 in fines and a mandatory license suspension period of one year. If you are convicted of an aggravated DUI charge, you are required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
If you are charged with a DUI, an officer will take your driver’s license and place you under arrest. Once you are processed, you may be able to bail out of jail depending on your charges. You can contact a family member or a criminal defense attorney in Virginia Beach to post your bond and pick you up at one of the following locations:
Virginia Beach Sheriff’s Office
2501 James Madison Blvd.,
Virginia Beach, VA 23456
Virginia Beach Police Department HQ
2509 Princess Anne Rd.,
Virginia Beach, VA 23456
For instructions on how to place bond for a DUI visit the Virginia Beach Sheriff’s Office website: http://inmateinfo.vbso.net/
Aggravated DUI in Virginia Beach
An aggravated DUI is serious. It can be a felony charge that can result in jail, costly fines and a criminal record.
You can be charged with an aggravated DUI for reasons listed below:
Your BAC was 0.15 percent at the time of your arrest
You were drunk with a minor under the age of 15 in your vehicle
It is your third DUI offense
You caused a deadly or injurious crash.
A DUI Attorney in Virginia Can Explain Your Legal Options
If you are facing a drunk driving or drugged driving charge, you need to speak with a DUI lawyer near you in Virginia Beach. There are many consequences associated with a DUI aside from the legal problems. Your job may be on the line, or the boss will think differently of you. Future employers may be reluctant to consider you for a position, or you may be unable to get a professional license. The list of consequences associated with a DUI go on, but you can avoid them by hiring a lawyer.
Following are some defense strategies your attorney can utilize:
Questioning an officer’s probable cause to conduct the traffic stop
Question the accuracy of field sobriety tests, a breathalyzer or chemical test
Determine if a medical problem caused a false/positive result in breathalyzer testing
Ask for a plea and reduced sentence
DUI cases can be complicated, and the stakes are higher than you realize. You need the representation of a skilled and persistent lawyer, so you have a better chance of avoiding a DUI or aggravated DUI conviction. Before you decide not to hire an attorney, we encourage you to meet with a one and get their honest advice. You are required to retain an attorney, but USAttorneys.com believes you’ll see how much they will benefit your case.
Your defense attorney may recommend you speak to a police brutality lawyer in Virginia Beach if an officer arrested you without justification or used excessive force at any time during your arrest or detention.