Under Nevada’s “per se” DUI laws, it is illegal to drive when your blood alcohol has reached the legal limit of 0.08 percent. You can also be charged with a DUI if there is a detectable amount of alcohol in your system and you appear to be impaired. In both situations above, a police officer can arrest you and charge you with DUI. Like most, you probably have no idea what to expect from your impaired driving arrest or what punishments you may face for conviction.
For most, their immediate concern after their DUI arrest is their driver’s license and whether they will lose it. A temporary suspension of you driver’s license is unavoidable for all DUI offenders in Henderson and the state.
You can appeal an administrative revocation by requesting a hearing before a representative of the DMV. Administrative penalties for a first-offense DUI in Nevada include driver’s license revocation for up to 90 days and mandatory attendance of a victim impact panel.
When your license is revoked as opposed to being suspended, the criteria to get it reinstated is more stringent, often requiring you to take a written exam and a road test. Below are some of the costs you’ll have to pay just to get your license reinstated:
Reinstatement Fee- $121
Victims Compensation Civil Penalty-$35
Driver’s License Fee- $42.25 Driver License Fee
SR-22 Certificate of Liability Insurance for three years- Several thousand dollars
It’s hard to get a fixed amount of the cost of maintaining an SR-22, which is also known as a Certificate of Financial Responsibility because an insurer determines that amount on a case-by-case basis.
Commercial driver’s, whether they drive a bus or a tractor-trailer, will lose their driver’s license for one year maybe permanently if their charges are severe.
A refusal to submit to a breathalyzer, blood or chemical test is a violation of Nevada’s implied consent laws and results in an automatic revocation of your driver’s license for one year with little chance of limited driving privileges.
You should note that you are responsible for getting your revocation reversed. The state will not contact you once your period of revocation is over, you are solely responsible for getting your driver’s license reinstated. If you don’t have your license reinstated in Nevada, the revocation will be on your record permanently, and you won’t be able to get a driver’s license in another state.
If you want to get your driver’s license reinstated, you must contact the Nevada DMV at the address listed below and see what criteria you must meet:
DMV Driver License Assessment
555 Wright Way
Carson City, NV 89711-0400
The administrative penalties are just the beginning and are handled separately from the criminal aspect of your DUI charge.
Unfortunately, you’re going to spend some time in jail; it could be just a few hours after your arrest or months for a conviction. Either way, a little jail time is inevitable for a DUI charge.
On some occasions, an arrest takes a wrong turn and can get physical or results in some form of misconduct on an officer’s behalf. If you are the target of police brutality, it’s important you speak with a police brutality lawyer in Nevada.
When a police officer has enough probable cause to believe you are drunk, they will likely place you under arrest and take you to the nearest police station for booking. You’ll be photographed, fingerprinted, and held until you sober up and get bailed out. A criminal defense lawyer in Nevada can help you with the bail process and point you in the direction or a reputable bail bondsman.
Below are some locations you may be taken to after your DUI arrest:
Henderson Detention Center
18 E Basic Rd.,
Henderson, NV 89015
Henderson Police Department Jail
243 S Water St.,
Henderson, NV 89015
Inmate Locator: http://inmateinfo.cityofhenderson.com/inmatesearch/
Criminal Punishments for a First DUI in Nevada
Jail: Two days to six months to six months in jail
Fines: $400 to $1,000
Driver’s License: 90-day revocation
Other Penalties: Vehicle impounded, drug or alcohol abuse treatment and community service
An arrest for drunken or drugged driving in Nevada is worth fighting because it has a criminal, personal and professional consequences. The overall costs of a DUI in Nevada can amount to $10,000 or more, but those are just the costs that can be easily calculated. Other costs are priceless including the detrimental effects a DUI will have on your career and what it does to your reputation. A DUI lawyer in Henderson can help you negate some of the adverse effects of a DUI arrest and conviction.
USAttorneys.com also recommends you speak to an immigration attorney if you are a visa holder, a guest worker, green-card holder or undocumented immigrant who has been charged with an impaired driving offense. As an immigrant, an arrest and conviction will have different repercussions.