Kansas City, MO- Were you stopped and arrested for driving under the influence? Do you know the penalties you face if convicted? Did you know that you could lose your license or lose your job for a DWI charge? If this is your first DUI charge, you probably don’t know what consequences you are facing. USAttorneys will discuss some of the things you need to know about if you are charged with a DWI in Kansas City.
Under Missouri DWI statutes, a motorist can be charged with a DWI if their blood alcohol concentration is 0.08 percent or above. (The legal blood alcohol level for commercial drivers and motorists under the age of 21 is lower.) In regards to drugs, it is illegal to drive with any amount of drugs in your system, which means it will be harder for you to avoid conviction even if you can prove that you were not impaired at the time of your arrest.
If you are convicted of your first DWI in Missouri, you face up to six months in jail, and your license will be suspended for at least thirty days. You also face fines up to $1,000 and could be ordered to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle. What’s worse, a DWI charge will remain on your record for five years, meaning if you have the misfortune of being stop for DWI during that period you will be considered a repeat offender.
On top of the legal penalties, a DWI conviction in Missouri can end up costing your job and lead to astronomical insurance premiums. You’ll also face legal and administrative expenses that can add up to several thousand dollars.
If you are charged with DWI after a traffic stop in Kansas City, USAttorneys urges you to speak with a DWI defense lawyer. They may be able to negotiate for a plea bargain which can mean reduced charges and penalties. A plea bargain for a wet reckless will still have consequences, but those penalties won’t be as harsh as the ones you face for a DWI conviction. Even though there are consequences of a plea bargain, you might be better off with a plea bargain, and it will keep you from being plagued by a criminal record. But if you are charged with a repeat offense, you will face en
Following DWI charge in Kansas City, you have some hard decisions to make, so USAttorneys recommends you speak with a DWI lawyer who understands Missouri’s impaired driving laws. They will give you the information you need to make the best decision about your defense strategy. The decisions you make in the aftermath of your DWI charge will impact your life for years to come, so be sure you know the pros and cons of each defense strategy that be used in your case. Let us help you locate a DWI attorney to evaluate your case and help you make a wise decision about how to resolve it.