Unless you are charged with your second or third DUI, you probably aren’t fully informed about Arizona’s DUI strict DUI laws. For instance, did you know that you can be charged with a DUI even if your blood alcohol concentration is less than the legal limit? That’s because the state has a zero-tolerance policy towards impaired driving. The zero-tolerance policy is just one of the strict DUI laws in Phoenix, which USAttorneys will discuss here.
Phoenix’s Zero-Tolerance Laws
The legal limit in Arizona is 0.08 percent, but you don’t have to reach that limit to be charged with DUI. A police officer can place you under arrest if your BAC is as low as 0.05 percent.
Just the presence of marijuana, opiates or another illicit drug in your bloodstream is enough for you to be charged with a drug-related DUI. Because of the state’s zero tolerance policy, the prosecutor for your case only needs to show that you have drugs in your system, and you can be convicted regardless of your level of impairment.
What is Blood Alcohol Concentration? And What Impact Does It Have on My DUI?
Blood alcohol concentration is the measure of alcohol molecules are in a certain volume of blood. On the roadside, a police officer will use a machine called a breathalyzer to get your BAC and can place you under arrest at the scene. It only takes two drinks for a 160-pound woman to reach Arizona’s legal limit or three drinks for a 220-pound man.
Regardless of what state you live in, your BAC plays a critical role in an alcohol-related DUI case, but Arizona approached BAC differently and uses a tiered system to decide the severity of your DUI charges. Below is a brief description of Arizona’s four-tiered system for drunken driving:
Standard DUI– Drivers with a BAC of 0.08 percent or lower will be charged with standard DUI. Commercial drivers can be charged with a DUI if their BAC is 0.04 percent or more.
Extreme DUI– If your blood alcohol concentration is .015 or more, you can be charged with an “extreme DUI” which carries a penalty of up to 30 days in jail, and fines up to $900.
Super extreme DUI– When your blood alcohol concentration exceeds 0.20 percent you can be charged with a Super Extreme DUI.
Aggravated DUI: You can be charged with an aggravated DUI in Phoenix if this is your third offense, you were driving with a canceled, revoked or suspended driver’s license; you had a minor under the age of 15 riding with you, or you were driving drunk and have an ignition interlock device in your car.
Reach Out to a DUI Lawyer in Phoenix
The impaired driving laws in Arizona are confusing. Our DUI lawyers in Phoenix have a comprehensive knowledge of the state’s DUI laws and know how to put together a winning defense. With a criminal defense lawyer in Arizona on your side, you will have a better chance of avoiding a DUI conviction. Let USAttorneys.com help you locate an accomplished legal professional near you.