If you take a chance and drive after having a few drinks, you could soon find yourself on the roadside in hand cuffs. Arizona law enforcement officers take impaired driving seriously and won’t hesitate to take you into custody if you are drunk or on drugs. Regrettably, your arrest is just the beginning of your legal problems; a conviction will have more consequences than you grasp.

Your Arrest and Your Driver’s License

Most police officers, when they suspect you are impaired, are going to place you under arrest and take you to a local jail. You can be held until your arraignment, which will be scheduled the next business day after your arrest, or you have the option to post bail.

If you would like to post bail, you are going to need the help of someone outside the jail, a friend, a spouse or a criminal defense lawyer in Arizona. They can gather the funds and pay your bail or speak to a bail bonds person. As soon as your bond is paid and the paperwork is processed.

Each jurisdiction has a different bail schedule, so you need to call the jail where they are being held to get the bail amount

Inmate search for Gilbert, AZ:

Arizona Department of Corrections- https://corrections.az.gov/public-resources/inmate-datasearch

Town of Gilbert- https://www.gilbertaz.gov/departments/court/general-information/warrants-bonds-and-jail

 

Gilbert Police Department

75 E Civic Center Dr.,

Gilbert, AZ 85296

gilbertaz.gov

 

Maricopa County Jail

225 W Madison St.,

Phoenix, AZ 85003

mcso.org

 

Your Driver’s License is Suspended

After your arrest, you’ll also lose your driver’s license if you don’t request an administrative hearing to contest your revocation. If you don’t request a hearing, you won’t be allowed to drive for 90 days. If you plan on requesting an administrative hearing, USAttorneys recommends you contact a DUI lawyer in Gilbert to represent you.

Drivers who refuse a chemical test or a breathalyzer are violating the state’s implied consent law and will have their license suspended for a year.

A DUI in Arizona is Expensive and Has Severe Penalties

A DUI conviction has consequences in every state, but most aren’t as tough on drunk drivers as Arizona. WalletHub recently identified Arizona as a state with some of the toughest DUI laws in the nation. Below are some of the penalties for a DUI conviction:

First Offense

Jail: Minimum 24 hours up to ten days

Fines: $250

Driver’s License: Suspension for a minimum of 90 days up to 360 days

Ignition Interlock Device: Mandatory, you cover the costs

 

Second Offense

Jail: Minimum 30 days up to 90 days

Fines: $500

Driver’s License: Suspension for a minimum one year

Ignition Interlock Device: Mandatory, you cover the costs

 

Third Offense

Jail: Minimum 40 days

Fines: $750

Driver’s License: Suspension for a minimum of one year

Ignition Interlock Device: Mandatory, you cover the costs

The fines listed above are just a glimpse of the costs you face for conviction. Even before you get to court, you must pay a bail, get your car out of impoundment and pay administrative fees related to your driver’s license. Below are some of the costs associated with a DUI conviction:

Court costs

Fee for administrative hearing

Probation

Rehabilitation if ordered by judge or terms of a plea bargain

DUI education courses

Ignition interlock device

Reinstatement of driver’s license

Lost wages due to court appearances

Possible termination from your job

Maintaining SR- 22 insurance, an exorbitantly priced policy for risky drivers

There are more costs associated with a DUI in Arizona that aren’t listed above, and they add up over time. For a basic DUI that doesn’t involve a penalty enhancement or additional damages, your DUI could cost $10,000, but a super DUI or additional criminal counts could hike the cost up to $20,000.

Some of the repercussions of a DUI conviction have no price like the damage to your reputation. A conviction for drunk driving will impact your social life and could damage your personal relationships.

Call a DUI Lawyer in Gilbert

Don’t settle for legal advice from a friend or family member; there is too much on the line for you to be complacent about your DUI charge. USAttorneys.com aims to connect you with a knowledgeable defense attorney who will have your best interest in mind.

That is just one thing you need to know about your impaired driving charge; there are many others. Our DUI lawyers in Mesa will discuss some of the other things you need to know about your charges and potential consequences if you are convicted.

Many Arizona residents don’t realize that if they are immigrants, a DUI arrest and conviction can put their legal status in jeopardy. In the worst cases, a DUI can result in deportation. We recommend you consult with an immigration lawyer in Arizona.