A charge related to driving while intoxicated is often referred to in many different ways. In some states, the courts refer to a charge involving someone who has been driving while under influence as a DUI. In other states, DWI, or driving while intoxicated, is how an officer is going to reference your charge. While every state varies in how they term the crime, Colorado uses one term, DWAI, driving while ability impaired, to recognize someone who has either consumed alcohol, drugs, or a combination of both.
If you are arrested for DUI/DWAI in Colorado, you are going to need a trusted CO DUI defense attorney representing your case.
If you have been charged with DWAI in Colorado Springs, CO, USAtttorneys.com can place you in touch with a CO DUI lawyer in a timely manner so they can begin assisting you in trying to get your charges reduced.
When Can a Person be Charged with DWAI in Colorado?
Under the Colorado Revised Statutes Section 42-4-1301(1)(g), when a person has consumed alcohol or drugs and it affects them even to the slightest degree, they could in fact be charged with the crime. Any sort of impairment can jeopardize your abilities to operate your vehicle which not only puts you at risk, but all others traveling on the roadway as well. According to Colorado State University, a person may be found guilty of DWAI if their BAC level is below 0.5. BAC refers to a person’s blood-alcohol content level.
While the legal limit is 0.08, having a level between 0.05-0.08 could reduce your ability to operate your vehicle. While it is presumed that someone with a BAC less than 0.05 isn’t driving with an impairment, it doesn’t exactly exclude them from being charged if they display signs of a decreased ability to do so.
What are the Penalties for a DWAI Charge?
If an officer pulls you over with probable cause and believes you are driving while intoxicated or driving while ability impaired, they more than likely are going to arrest you. If this has happened to you or someone you know, it is vital they contact a local Colorado Springs DUI attorney immediately as these professionals can increase your chance of getting your penalties reduced or even thrown out if there isn’t adequate evidence.
However, if you are facing a DUI or DWAI charge in the state of Colorado, you are looking at some pretty harsh consequences as the courts make every effort to help decrease your chances of engaging in the act again. So, what are these penalties exactly?
Well, because you are going to be arrested if the officer believes you are intoxicated, you will go to jail, however the amount of time you are required to spend in jail varies. This is one reason why it is essential for you to have a Colorado DUI defense lawyer representing you. Generally, you could face anywhere from two-180 days in jail for the crime. You may also be looking at a fine of $100-$500, 24 to 48 hours of public service, and the other fees associated with the charges. And in some cases, probation and other classes may be required of you to take in relation to the crime committed. Therefore, if you are looking to learn more about DWAI or DUI in the state of Colorado, USAttorneys will be happy to find you the right Colorado Springs DUI lawyer now who can assist you.