Traverse City, MI—In the State of Michigan, it is illegal for an individual who is age 21 and older to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content level of 0.08% or higher. Individuals who operate commercial motor vehicles (CMV) must not get behind the wheel of their vehicles intoxicated or with a BAC level or 0.04% of higher. If an individual violates the law and drives while intoxicated, they can be charged with OWI, or operating while intoxicated.
Although OWI is the common acronym that is used after an individual has been arrested and charged for driving under the influence of alcohol, OUIL is another. OUIL, or operating under the influence of liquor, is sometimes used interchangeably with OWI in the State of Michigan. Other states often refer to driving under the influence as DUI or DWI.
What are some other acronyms the State of Michigan uses to refer to drunk driving?
OUIL and OWI are just two of the acronyms the State of Michigan uses to refer to driving under the influence. Some of the others include1:
- OWVI- Operating While Visibly Impaired
- OWPD-Operating With Any Presence of a Schedule 1 Drug or Cocaine
While OUIL and OWI can be used interchangeably, it is important for individuals to understand that OWI can also refer to driving while under the influence of drugs or other intoxicating substances.
What are the penalties for OUIL?
If an individual is pulled over and arrested in Traverse City, MI, either because they appeared to be intoxicated or a blood or breath test revealed they had liquor in their system, they will likely be charged with OWI, even if their arrest report lists OUIL as the offense. When a person is accused of OUIL, they could face the following penalties if they are convicted for the first time:
- A fine of $100-$500.
- Up to 93 days in jail.
- Up to 360 hours of community service.
- Having their driver’s license suspended for 30 days, followed by a 150-day license restriction period.
- Possible vehicle immobilization.
- Possibly having to have an ignition interlock device installed inside their vehicle.
- Having six points added to their driving record.
If an individual was charged with OUIL or OWI and had a BAC level of .17 or higher, their penalties then become enhanced.
Contacting an OUIL Lawyer After an Arrest in Traverse City, Michigan
If an individual was arrested for operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, a Traverse City, MI OUIL attorney can help them understand the charges they are up against and guide them through their case. The OUIL lawyers at Neumann Law Group understand how confusing and scary it is to be facing a crime that carries jail time and fines and are here to help those facing an OWI or OUIL gain a better understanding of their rights.
Neumann Law Group can be reached at:
300 E Front Street, #445
Traverse City, MI 49684
Phone: (231) 221-0050