There are a lot of uncertainties when you are charged with a DWI in Greensboro, but one thing is certain: It’s going to cost you! Some of those costs are monetary, but a conviction also comes at a great cost to your reputation, your job, and your personal life. Those costs vary based on the facts surrounding your case. Here, USAttorneys.com will discuss some of the costs of you DWI.
Levels of DWI Charges in North Carolina
As we previously mentioned, the total cost of your drunk driving charges depends on a variety of factors. One of the greatest determining factors of the cost of DWI is the level of your offense. In North Carolina, there are five levels of DUI with different fines, jail penalties, and driver’s license periods
When deciding what level of DWI offense you will be charged with, prosecutors consider the mitigating, aggravating circumstances and grossly aggravating circumstances. Mitigating factors are facts of the case that work in the defendant’s favor such as having a safe driving record. On the other hand, aggravating circumstances work against a defendant and can include speeding, or driving with a BAC of 0.016 percent or more.
You face even stiffer penalties, higher costs, and larger bail amounts if grossly aggravating circumstances apply in your case. Grossly aggravating circumstances include causing a traffic crash while impaired, repeat DWI offense while license revoked and DWI with a minor child.
Those levels from least serious to most serious include:
Level V- Mitigating factors outweigh the aggravating factors
Level IV- Aggravating factors balance mitigating factors
Level III- Aggravating factors outweigh any mitigating factors significantly
Level II-One grossly aggravating factor present; mitigating and aggravating circumstances have no bearing
Level I- Two grossly aggravating factors present; mitigating and aggravating circumstances have no bearing
In addition to those penalties, your DWI conviction will result in an arrest and conviction record that can be viewed by the public and will show up on background checks. A DWI on your record is likely to make you unappealing to employers and may prohibit you from seeking a professional license.
Jail Times for DWI in Greensboro
If a police officer in Greensboro suspects you of impaired driving, you will be taken to one of the lockups listed below:
Guilford County Jail
507 E Green Dr.,
High Point, NC 27260
Guilford County Sheriff’s Office
7506 Summerfield Rd.,
Summerfield, NC 27358
Greensboro Police Department
2602 S Elm-Eugene St.,
Greensboro, NC 27406
To find an inmate in Greensboro, use these search tools:
If you are convicted of a DWI in Greensboro, you face the following jail sentences:
Level V- 24 hours up to six months
Level IV- Minimum of 48 hours up to 120 days
Level III-72 hours up to six months
Level II- Seven days up one year
Level I- Minimum 30 days up to two years
The costs of being incarcerated even for just for a few days can be huge economic burden. You’ll lose days, months or years of pay. It is likely you’ll lose your job if you must spend too much in jail. With no income, you could lose your car or your home and must rebuild everything you worked for before your arrest. Putting a price tag on the loss of wages is hard.
Driver’s License Suspension or Revocation
Another immediate consequence of a DWI in Greensboro is an automatic suspension of your driver’s license and will remain suspended for thirty days. After that time, you can ask for a hearing before the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles for limited driving privileges until you are convicted or exonerated.
For a DWI conviction, you face:
Level V-30-day license suspension
Level IV-60-day license suspension
Level III-90-day license suspension
Level II-Revocation of driver’s license
Level I-Revocation of driver’s license
Under the state’s Implied Consent law, North Carolina General Statutes 20.16.2, you can have your license revoked for one year for your first refusal of a breathalyzer or chemical test.
Contact a DUI Lawyer in Greensboro
Over time, the costs of your DWI will add up and before you know it will cost you several thousand dollars, most likely more. To avoid those costs, we recommend you speak with a DIU lawyer in Greensboro and help them build your defense.
Immigrants need to consult with an immigration lawyer in Greensboro as soon as they are charged, so they can avoid making mistakes that could lead to deportation.