New York City has some pretty serious penalties in place for drivers who attempt to drive while they are under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Anyone who drives under the influence in NYC will be subject to a wide range of legal consequences ranging from paying hefty fines to having to undergo years in jail depending on how much damage they caused.
If they gave the officer a hard time, got into an accident, or hurts others during the process their penalties will go up accordingly.
What exactly comes under drunk driving in New York City?
A person is considered to be drunk driving in New York City if they meet the following criteria:
- Driving with a BAC of 0.08% or higher when they are at least 21 years of age
- Driving a commercial vehicle with a BAC of 0.04% or higher
- Driving with a BAC of 0.02% or higher when they are less than 21 years old
New York does follow a zero tolerance policy when it comes to young drivers driving while intoxicated. Young drivers who are not yet 21 years old can face severe charges-such as having their license taken away- if it is determined that they even have a slight amount of alcohol in their system.
If a person has had a drink or two at a party, it is always best to make sure they arrange a ride with other friends or family members instead of trying to get behind the wheel and drive themselves.
When a person is caught DUI for the first time it will most probably be counted as a light misdemeanor crime and the penalties won’t be so extreme- especially if no accident or injuries were involved. However, if a person is caught consecutively DUI and they got into an accident or injured pedestrians while they were at it, they will be judged more harshly by the law.
How many drinks will lead to me having a high BAC?
The BAC of a person will go up differently per drink depending on their height, weight, medical conditions, and even their gender. Generally speaking, it only takes a couple of drinks for a person to become legally intoxicated. If a person has had more than one drink they should refrain from driving for at least a few hours.
If a person gets charged with DUI they should get a DUI lawyer in NYC to help them determine what steps need to be taken in order to have their charges reduced and in order to gain their driving privileges back again.
What happens if I fail to comply for a breathalyzer test?
New York City operates under the law of implied consent. This means that an officer is allowed to take a test on the spot when they have pulled someone over for the suspicion of DUI. If a person fails to comply they can be faced with even more charges and will be looked at even more unfavorably by the jury.