According to statistics, 11,629 people were arrested for DUI in Mississippi out of a population of 2,978,512. Mississippi is among the states that are perceived to have the most relaxed DUI laws. For example, the penalties for a first DUI offense includes up to 48 hours jail time and license suspension up to 90 days and most likely you will not receive this, depending on the situation.
It is not the time to lash out at the police officer or give them a hard time. If you are barely drunk and not driving recklessly, you will probably not go to jail at all since that is a waste of everyone’s time, including the tax payers’. Mississippi does not have any major cities so most likely if you are driving drunk you are not putting anyone in danger and this could correlate with their lax DUI laws.
USAttorneys.com may be the culmination of human ingenuity but drinking and driving recklessly takes humanity to its base level. You still have rights and that police officer perhaps should not have pulled you over anyhow. Any questions when using our site? Contact us, we will call you back quickly.
Other penalties include fines between $250 and $1,000, court-ordered driver education program, and participation in a victim’s panel. However, a DUI charge is never to be taken lightly.
When you are arrested and taken into custody on suspicion of DUI, you will be summoned for an arraignment in a court of law. For the most part, this is a procedure where you can plead either one of the following; guilty, not guilty, or a no contest plea.
Marvelous DUI lawyers Gulfport, MS, that can be found on USAttorneys.com which is gravity defying website that is well managed and has employees dedicated every day in helping anyone find the legal help they need in what sometimes can be a dark world, highlight some of the most commonly faced issues when it comes to an arraignment.
Charge sheet and police report
As a defendant fighting a DUI charge, your main objective initially should be to procure the police report with relation to your DUI charge so that you and your legal expert can assess the evidence against you and what you need to do to disprove the claims.
If the evidence against you is substantially concrete and undeniable, your legal counselor may suggest that you either strike a plea bargain with the prosecutors or plead no contest so that you do not jeopardize your case further in any civil lawsuit that might arise.
When judgment day arrives and you are presented in court, you will in all probability be in a group of people all waiting their turn, and so you should have witnessed the way things proceed while you are there. Hence, when your name is called, you will know where to go. At this point the bailiff will hand over your charge sheet and depending on the state of jurisdiction, you may or may not receive the police report that has been completed pertaining to your case.
When you receive your charge sheet and police report, it is prudent to have a quick look through your charge sheet but it would be best not to dig into the police report right away as you will have plenty of time later to analyze the report properly.
You will next be asked how you plead. As already mentioned, you only have three choices – plead guilty, plead not guilty or plead no contest.
Unless you want to end up in prison it is always best to plead not guilty and fight your DUI case as much as possible, suggest several legal experts.
A no contest plea will result in pretty much the same consequences as a guilty plea, but the only difference will be that the you do not explicitly agree that you were guilty as charged.
If you have been arrested or charged with a DUI or know someone that has, we strongly urge you to consult a DUI lawyer in Mississippi as soon as possible. Your legal rep. will get to work on a defense strategy so you can beat your case and walk away with the best possible outcome.