Peoples’ perspective on driving under the influence has changed significantly over the past few decades and so have the laws. For the most part, DUI is recognized as a violent crime that can even lead to felony charges. Arizona has, just like other states, seen its fair share of drunk driving crashes, which is why according to Phoenix, DUI lawyers there are severe penalties imposed on offenders.
This includes mandatory jail time, suspension of driving license, thousands of dollars in fine, court fees, and in many cases, offenders are liable to have their vehicle impounded.
It does not have to be this way though. There is a light at the end of the tunnel. You can increase your odds of not having the law book smashed down on you if you use this site and hire a sterling Phoenix DUI lawyer. Press right here.
Super Extreme DUI
According to the Arizona Governor’s Office of Highway Safety, drunk driving accounted for 31% of all traffic fatalities in 2013. While a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% is the lower limit for which a driver can be charged with DUI, there are several people who choose to get behind the wheel with a much higher level.
In 2007, Arizona added the ‘super extreme DUI’ charge to punish offenders with a BAC of .20% or more with a minimum 45-day prison sentence in addition to the mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device. Prior to September 2007, these devices were only ordered for extreme DUI and aggravated DUI offenders. However, the device has since become part of the penalty for all DUI offenders.
An offender is likely to be charged with an ‘Extreme DUI’ if found with a BAC of .15% but less than .20%. Penalties include a minimum of 30 days imprisonment and fines as high as $2500 for a first time offender. According to Phoenix, Arizona DUI attorneys, the offender will also have to install an ignition interlock device at their own cost and will have their driving privileges suspended for up to 1 year.
The penalties and fines are much higher for a second Extreme DUI conviction with increased jail time, exorbitant fines of at least $3,250, and a minimum of 120 days in jail. Repeat offenders also face court ordered community service and completion of an alcohol treatment program in addition to their license being revoked for a year.
Arizona is one among a few states to introduce ‘super extreme DUI’ although the crime is still a misdemeanor. However, the minimum jail time of 45 is often much more than for other first time felonies. In addition, there is always the chance of the DUI offender’s photo being posted on the website of the Maricopa County District Attorney’s Office. However, it is important to be aware that just being charged with a ‘super extreme DUI’ could lead to a conviction.
A DUI Charge doesn’t Necessarily Mean a Conviction is in Store
According to Phoenix, AZ there are several factors that can affect the outcome of the case. This includes issues with the blood testing process, the actual BAC level, and if there were any procedural or constitutional violations.
Often times, these factors could result in a reduced plea offer or complete dismissal depending on the evidence and defense strategy of the attorney. To learn more about DUI convictions and how they could impact your situation make sure to consult a reliable Arizona DUI defense lawyer as soon as possible. It may be super hot in Phoenix in the summer time but this does not mean you cannot cool down the legal flames if you have committed legal help standing by you. This site can make that a reality: https://usattorneys.com/.