So many Floridians drive under the influence of drugs or alcohol, some do it without realizing it, and others get behind the wheel knowing they are too drunk. Impaired drivers are the unsafe driver, and there are numerous repercussions for an arrest and even more if you are convicted.
How Long Will I Be in Jail for a DUI in St. Petersburg?
You can be held in jail after your arrest in Florida until you post bail. Under state law, you must be held until you meet one of the following conditions:
Eight hours have passed since your arrest
You are no longer intoxicated,
Your BAC has fallen below 0.05 percent
Soon after your arrest, usually the next morning, you will appear before a judge where you will be notified of your charges, and your bail is set. USAttorneys.com recommends you enlist a criminal defense lawyer in St. Petersburg to represent you before the judge. Anything you say during your bond hearing or while in police custody can be used in your prosecution, so it’s best to let a lawyer speak for you.
The amount of bond you pay will depend on your prior criminal record and whether you pose a flight risk or not. Bond amounts for a misdemeanor DUI can range between $500 and $10,000, but felony DUIs can have bond amounts as high as $50,000.
If you are unable to pay your full bail amount, you need to contact a bail bondsman to pay your bail. You will have to pay at least 10 percent of the full bail amount to a bondsman and may be asked to put up additional collateral.
To locate the jail where someone is being held, use one of the inmate locator tool listed below:
Jails and Police Stations in St. Petersburg:
St. Petersburg Police Department
1300 1st Ave N,
St. Petersburg, FL 33705
Pinellas County Jail
14400 49th North Street,
Clearwater, FL 33762
Pinellas County Sheriff’s Office
10750 Ulmerton Rd.,
Largo, FL 33778
Wrongful arrests aren’t common, but it can happen to anyone. You might be eligible for compensation if you are hurt by an officer who used excessive force or arrested you without sufficient cause. Call a police brutality lawyer in Florida and find out if you deserve compensation.
Will My Driver’s License be Suspended?
A DUI arrest may result in a suspension of your driver’s license, but it isn’t automatic. You will be issued a citation that is valid for ten days and will act as your temporary driver’s license. If you have not requested a Formal Review Hearing, your license will be suspended for at least six months up to one year.
A Formal Review Hearing will give you the opportunity to request limited driving privileges while your case is ongoing. To request a Formal Review Hearing, you need to fill out a form and send it to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
You also have the option of filing for a Business Purposes Only license, so that you can drive while you wait for your administrative hearing. A BPO license allows you to drive back and forth from work, school, medical appoints and business meetings.
If you are successful at your Formal Review Hearing, you can have your license restored with no restrictions. If you are unsuccessful or don’t request a hearing, your license will be suspended.
What if I Refuse a Breathalyzer or Chemical Test?
Some drivers refuse to breathalyzer or chemical test because they want to avoid a DUI charge. A refusal is a violation of the Florida’s Implied Consent law and will result in the automatic suspension of your driver’s license for at least one year. Such a violation will count as a DUI if you face a repeat DUI over a five-year or ten-year lookback period, depending on the number of prior DUI conviction.
How Much is My DUI Going to Cost?
With an experienced DUI lawyer serving St. Petersburg on your side, you can avoid a jail sentence and keep some of your driving privileges, but you won’t be able to avoid the exorbitant costs
Fee for Administrative Review Hearing
Impoundment of your vehicle
License Reinstatement fees
Drug and alcohol assessment courses
Skyrocketing insurance premiums
Above are just a few of the costs, there are some that aren’t listed, and they can add up over the next few years. Over the course of your DUI you can pay $10,000 or more.
On top of the high cost, a DUI charge has legal ramifications as well. Those penalties can include the following:
First Offense DUI
Jail: Up to six months
Fines: $500 to $1,000
Driver’s License: Revocation 180 days up to one year
Second Offense DUI
Jail: Up to nine months
Fines: $1,000 up to $4,000
Driver’s License: Revocation five years minimum
Third Offense DUI
Jail: 30 days up to 12 months
Fines: $2,000 to $4,000
Driver’s License: Revocation Minimum ten years
DUI Involving a Fatality
Jail- 15 years up to 30 years
Fines: Up to $5,000
Driver’s License: Revocation permanent
If you are an immigrant, the penalties listed above aren’t all you need to worry about, you also need to be concerned about your immigration status. We recommend you speak to an immigration lawyer in St. Petersburg before you decide to plea or accept a plea bargain.
The penalties for a DUI are severe but avoidable with a solid defense. Let USAttorneys.com help you find a local attorney to help with your case.