Sacramento, CA- For the most part, most DUI offenders in California are facing routine charges which can carry relatively tough penalties. But those penalties pale in comparison to the penalties that accompany an aggravated DUI conviction. Too many motorists are unaware of when they can be charged with an aggravated DUI, so we’ll discuss those reasons here.
In Sacramento, and the state as whole, you can be charged with an aggravated DUI if:
- Your blood alcohol concentration is .015 percent of more
- You were driving impaired with a minor under the age of 15
- You were speeding prior to you arrest; 20 miles above speed limit in city streets or 30 miles above speed limit in highways
- You caused an accident the resulted in serious injury or death of one or more individuals
- You have been charge with your second or a repeat DUI
- Or, have been charged with a DUI in a construction zone.
If any of the above circumstances apply to your arrest, you could be facing longer jail times, more costly fines and penalties and longer periods of license suspension.
If you are charged with an aggravated DUI, you can count on prosecutors to aggressively pursue your conviction. That means you need to proactive and retain legal counsel immediately to work on your defense. USAttorneys can connect you with a DUI lawyer in Sacramento, California so you can set up a consultation and get the information you need to make the best decision about your defense strategy.
It is possible for an individual to avoid an aggravated DUI charged by negotiating for a plea bargain. Such bargain allow you to plea to lesser charges for a more lenient sentence. Securing a plea bargain is not a guarantee which is why you need a defense lawyer working in your case. Even if you do manage to secure a plea bargain, your charge will remain on your record for years to come.
These bargains allow you to plea down your charges and possibly reduce your penalties. In exchange, you will be required to plead guilty to a charge, generally wet reckless, in exchange for your reduced sentence. Whether or not you are able to secure a plea bargain depends on the circumstances surrounding you case and your legal representation. You should note that even if you are arrested for a DUI anytime during the 10-year lookback period, your plea bargain will count against you.
Judges often apply the maximum sentencing to those convicted of an aggravated DUI, so you need be able to counter their evidence and arguments. The most assured way to ensure counter the prosecution is to retain a DUI lawyer in California to work on your case. You need to get sound legal advice before you make any decisions about your future. USAttorneys can help you find dedicated and experienced legal counsel to be by your side throughout all stages of your DUI case and work to minimize the sentencing you face.