Chicago, IL- The majority of DUI offenders in Illinois face routine charges. But there are many times when a person’s DUI arrest involves circumstances that can elevate a DUI to an aggravated DUI. Such a charge carries stiffer penalties, higher fines and longer license periods and can impact all aspects of your life. So, here we’ll discuss some of the circumstances that can lead to an aggravated DUI and why you need help with your charges.
In Chicago, you can be accused of an aggravated DUI for the following reasons:
You are charged with a third or subsequent DUI.
You were driving a school bus or were carrying one or more persons 18 or younger.
You were driving a for-hire vehicle with one or more passengers.
You caused an accident that resulted in great bodily harm.
You caused an accident that resulted in death.
You are charged with a second or subsequent while driving with a child under the age of 16.
Your license was expired, or you did not have car insurance at the time of your DUI arrest.
The above list is not a comprehensive; there are other circumstances that can lead to an aggravated DUI charge in Illinois. If you’d like to see, a full list visit the Illinois General Assembly website.
If any of the above circumstances applied at the time of your arrest, you are facing tough penalties which include up to 10 days of incarceration and up to 480 days of community service. You can also add thousands of dollars in fines and loss of your driver’s license to the potential penalties you could receive for an aggravated DUI conviction.
Unfortunately, you cannot get a plea bargain for a DUI, aggravated or otherwise, in Illinois. That means, if you are facing an aggravated DUI charge, you need a DUI defense lawyer. USAttorneys can connect you with a DUI lawyer in Chicago to assist you with your aggravated DUI charges. You can count on them to fight for your rights.
An aggravated DUI is a serious charge, and you can expect aggressive prosecution. You can also expect a judge to give you the maximum penalty allowed by law unless you have someone arguing your case. You must be able to counter the evidence against you and show why you deserve leniency. The best way to do this is to have an attorney on your side who understands state law. Before making any decisions about how to handle your case, speak with a lawyer. You need the advice of an experienced criminal defense attorney during all stages of your case, working to minimize the penalties you face.