Mountainside, NJ- Thousands of people are arrested for drinking and driving in New Jersey each year. A simple DWI carries some pretty harsh penalties. But there are some circumstances in which a DWI in Mountainside can be elevated and result in harsher penalties. Those harsher penalties can include longer jail times, higher fines and longer periods of license suspension. There are a number of circumstances that can lead to enhanced penalties. Do you know what those circumstances are? Chances are you don’t, so our team of DWI lawyers in New Jersey will explain some of the situations that will call for tougher penalties.
First, you should know that if you are charged with your first DUI in New Jersey with no special circumstances, you face up to 30 days in jail, fines between $250 and $400 and will have your license suspended for at least 3 months, maybe more. You could also be ordered to install an ignition interlock device in your car. Those are the penalties for a routine DWI, next we will discuss some of the circumstances that could lead to enhanced penalties for DWI charges and the possible consequences you dace as outlined by the New Jersey Department of Motor Vehicles:
Second, third or subsequent DWI offense: A second, third or subsequent conviction for DWI, carries enhanced penalties if your arrests occurred in a 10-year lookback period. For a second DWI offense you could be given a minimum of 48 hours in jail up to 90 days in jail, fines anywhere between $500 and $1,000, and your license will be suspended for up to two years. You may also be ordered to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle at your own cost.
High Blood Alcohol Levels: In New Jersey If your blood alcohol concentration is 0.10 or above and you are convicted of DWI, in addition to potential jail time of up to 30 days in jail, fines between $300 and $500 and 7 to 10 months and you could also be ordered to install an ignition interlock device in your car.
DWI with a minor child in your car: A DWI with a child 16 and under in car may also result in additional charges and enhanced penalties. In some cases a DWI-with a minor child carries a possible jail-term of 6 months.
DWI in a school zone: A conviction for a DWI arrest that occurred within 1,000 feet of a school carries double the penalties of a routine DWI.
A DWI in New Jersey rarely results in felony charges unless the impaired driver causes an accident that involved serious injury or death. This is a very serious charge and could carry a jail penalty of up to ten year in prison. The penalties depend on the severity of the victim’s injuries.
A DWI whether it is a routine or involves enhanced penalties is a charge that you need to take seriously by retaining a DWI defense attorney in New Jersey. USAttorneys can connect you with one near your Mountainside location.