If you are charged with driving under the influence in San Antonio Texas, you may experience changes to your insurance, or your carrier may drop your coverage leaving you searching for an affordable option. Call an experience insurance agent at the Will Peterson Agency for a free quote to help you secure necessary automobile coverage after a DUI.
Expensive insurance policy.
After being convicted of a DUI in Texas, a driver may be classified as high risk, which is why it is important to try to beat a conviction if charges are placed against you. This will be impacted more severely if a driver has had previous DUI activities because it reveals to an insurer that you are a high risk driver. If you are not dropped after a DUI, your insurance premiums may will go up and you will be forced to purchase a “high risk” policy which is more expensive. Cancellations usually occur immediately after a DUI hits your driving record or is reported to insurance.
Many carriers will increase premiums after a DUI in Texas, but some will just drop your coverage because you had a bad driving record before this charge, past DUI activity and/or a DUI occurring before you were 21 years of age.
“At fault” state.
If you are in an accident while driving under the influence, fault will most likely fall upon you as Texas is an “at fault state” meaning the party found to be responsible for the accident will have to compensate all other parties involved in the accident the DUI caused. A person who is proven to be under the influence is negligent of driving in a condition which is not “reasonable” for their safety and others.
Recovery of damages over insurance.
Damages cover medical bills, lost wages, and lost property for victims of accidents caused in a DUI case. In Texas, the current minimum liability limits are listed as 30/60/25 coverage, which means that the limits are: $30,000 for each injured person; up to $60,000 per accident; and $25,000 for property damage per accident. Depending on the extent of damage to property, or injuries sustained by a person in an accident, the minimum might not cover the whole recovery amount. If a civil suit occurs it will also impact the ability to get insurance.
Comparative Negligence (51% Rule).
Texas negligence laws stipulate that damages are proportionate to the claimant’s degree of fault, but Texas utilizes the 51% rule, whereby an injured person can be up to 51% responsible for an accident and still collect damages in a Texas personal injury claim but if you were more than 51% responsible for the accident, you are not able to recover compensation for your accident expenses.
Hire a DUI attorney and call an insurance agent.
It is important to hire an experienced DUI attorney to try to lessen the severity of your charges that will impact your ability to secure auto insurance. Call a reputable insurance company at the Will Peterson Agency to help you navigate any changes to your existing policy and find out what they can do to help you secure the coverage you will still need after a DUI in San Antonio Texas.
Will Peterson Agency
P.O Box 389
Cibolo, TX 78108
TEX. CIV. PRAC. & REM. CODE § 33.011(1)