Fort Pierce, FL- Have you been arrested from driving under the influence of drugs and alcohol in Florida? If the answer is “Yes,” you have a lot of company. Statistics from the Centers for Disease Control shows that 2.1 percent of adults in the state admit to driving when they’ve had too much to drink. That means many individuals in Fort Pierce will be charged with DUI and one of their first questions is: What is my DUI going to cost me?
If this is your first DUI charge, one of the DUI defense attorneys at USAttorneys may be able to help you dodge the worst of the penalties, but you will still pay—and dearly—for your DUI. Most people realize there are repercussions for their DUI, but they don’t are unlikely to know how high of a price they are actually going to pay.
As for the legal consequences, a conviction for your first DUI can include a 6-month jail term, license revocation for up to 18-months and the possible requirement to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. A Florida DUI may also require you to do face community service and face up to a year on probation.
But that’s not all, there are also a number of other costs associated with a DUI conviction and overtime your DUI can be very expensive. Financial penalties for a first DUI can cost an individual anywhere from $500 and $1,500. If your blood alcohol content is above .15, you will have to pay penalties as high as $2,000.
Then there are the fess you must pay for your alcohol assessment classes, which generally requires a fee for every class you attend. Those prices can vary from county to county. If you were ordered to go rehab, you’ll most likely have to cover those costs out of your own pocket. Then there are community service fees.
But it doesn’t end there. You will also have to cover the costs of an ignition interlock device if you were ordered to install one. You will have to pay initial installment feeds, which could range anywhere from $100 to $250, depending on the type of vehicle you drive. You must also pay a monthly maintenance fee of $50 to $100.
Adding to overall costs of your DUI is the fact that once you’ve served your sentence, you will most likely want to drive again. That means you must pay to reinstate your driver’s license and will face skyrocketing insurance premiums.
Last year, the Sun Sentinel reported that conviction for DUI can cause your insurance rates to the increase by a staggering 86 percent. According to the paper, your typical DUI offender can expect to pay $3,072 or more in car insurance premiums once they are convicted. Florida residents already pay more in car insurance premiums than motorists in other states mainly because of the rate of accident fraud in the Sunshine State, but if you have the bad luck of being convicted or impaired driving, you can expect really high insurance premiums.
While it will also cost you to hire a lawyer to work on your defense, it will be money well spent and could save tons in the long run. If you are in Fort Pierce and want an outstanding DUI attorney look no further than the Ohle & Ohle law firm. USAttorneys urges you to contact their officer immediately after your arrest and let them get started on your case.